top of page

2024 Election Bios for Board Positions


This year we are electing our Treasurer and Secretary for 2-year terms.  Also, we have four 3-year board positions available and one 1-year term to fill a board members seat who retired.    Please try to vote in our community election and help our community grow stronger.

Carol Gillen for Treasurer

I have served the community as treasurer since June 2018, and as a director since September 2018. My husband, Jerry, and I were married in 1989, and we have 2 wonderful children who’ve left the nest. We purchased my parents’ home here in Walker Lake in 2018. My experience working with QuickBooks, bookkeeping, and payroll has helped to move our community past a very difficult time. I also chair the Finance Committee and serve on the Planning Committee. We’ve made great progress, but there is more work to be done. I would like the opportunity to continue that forward momentum. Because my family has had a presence in this community since the sixties and multiple family members are here currently, I have a keen interest in seeing the community prosper and thrive. I hope that you will consider allowing me the opportunity to offer my services to the community as a director for another term. I do believe that I can help us to move forward and would appreciate the opportunity to continue.


Carolyn Kalinich for Secretary

 I have lived in this community since January 2019.  My husband and I moved here from Sparta after retiring.  I have worked as a Legal Secretary, Executive Assistant to a Bank President, and as Executive Assistant in Human Resources/Administration.  Most of my duties at the bank included providing daily assistance to the bank president, and the responsibility of attending all Board and Committee meetings where I took minutes and gathered all necessary documentation for distribution to the Board and Committee members. Two years ago, an opportunity to join the Board of WLLA as Secretary and Director arose and it is something I have very much enjoyed doing.   I will again be running for another term as secretary and believe my prior work experience, as well as my two years on the Board as secretary, makes me a good fit for the position.


Mario Aieta for Director At-Large (3-year term)

My wife and I have been members of the Walker Lake community since 1998. I am an avid gardener, an unskilled woodworker, and, in my spare time, a lawyer. I believe that our most valuable asset at Walker Lake is the quiet beauty that surrounds us, and I will work to preserve and increase that quiet beauty. 


Dan Duggan for Director At-Large (3-year term)



Andrea Rhiel for Director At-Large (1-year term)

My husband, Ray and I have been full time residents of Walker Lake since 2003. Now that I am semi-retired and no longer a tour director traveling around North America with 35 guests in tow, I have the time to become more involved in the community.  My passions are family, friends, travel and history, living each day and enjoying the beauty of nature. I would like the opportunity to contribute to WLLA to the best of my abilities.


John Rolando for Director At-Large (3-year term)

My wife Dawn and I have been living in the community for nearly 8 years, seven of which have been full

time. I have been on the board since April of 2021.

Prior to retiring, I was the President of Evonik Corporation in Parsippany NJ. Evonik

Corporation is the North American subsidiary of Evonik Industries, a German based globally active

chemical company. In my 33 years there, I had the opportunity to work in North America and Germany

with roles including marketing, business development, general management, and for the last 8 years as

CEO. I also served on the Boards of the American Chemistry Council, The German American Chamber of

Commerce and the Societe de Chimie.

Now that I am not travelling a majority of the time for work, I can attend meetings and I believe.

contribute to the board. I look forward to continuing my work on the board. 


Ed Vingoe for Director At-Large (1-year term)


My wife Vicki, son Edward James and I moved into Walker Lake in August 2023. Since then, I have been able to help out at a few of the community volunteer days where I have met some of our wonderful neighbors here. 

I recently retired from the US Air Force and will be retiring shortly from my federal position at Stewart Air National Guard Base.  I am looking forward to the next chapter! I am also currently working part-time at BackRoad Brewing Company.

My hobbies include traveling, spending time with friends and family and cooking!

I believe that I would be a good fit for the board because I believe in keeping the serenity and quiet of the community while also moving us forward to some changes.

John Weber for Director At-Large (3-year term)

I am running for re-election on the board of directors, I have been active on the B.O.D for the past few years and will continue to serve the community. 

I am also active on the following committees, Dam, Clubhouse, Nominations, and help wherever I am needed. 

I have lived in Walker Lake full time for 11 years and have been a property owner since 1970,s. I joined the U.S. Navy in the 1960,s and served my tour of duty on a Destroyer Escort and was honorably discharged in 1967. My hobbies include Amateur Radio, Rv-ing , travel, my work experience includes engineering, manufacturing, de

bottom of page